The 8 Limbs Of Yoga

Category Archive

What is Dhyana?

Dhyana is the seventh limb of Patanjali’s Eight Limbed Path, and is the practice of Meditation or Contemplation. According to the Yoga Sutras, Meditation is the uninterrupted flow of concentration. In other words, meditation is the outcome of training the mind through concentration and mindfulness within the present moment. Just as we train the body […]

Read More

What Is Pratyahara

Pratyahara is usually translated into ‘withdrawl of the senses,’ however, like many Sanskrit terms, the meaning is much deeper than what we see on the surface level. The term is composed of two Sanskrit words, prati and ahara. ‘Ahara’ means food, or anything we take into ourselves from the outside. Prati is translated into against […]

Read More

What Is Pranayama?

Prāṇāyāma is a Sanskrit word often translated into ‘breath control’— however the word itself is compiled with two words. Prana, meaning life force or energy (and is often related to as the breath); and ayāma, meaning to extend or draw out. Though I mentioned that pranayama is often translated into ‘breath control,’ for the general […]

Read More

What Is Asana?

In the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali, Asana is translated into ‘to be seated in a position that is steady but relaxed.’ Most of the time, Asana is translated as a posture, position, or seat, and today is mostly related to the physical Hatha Yoga practices— which many of us have come to know as ‘Yoga.’ […]

Read More